Sunday, October 28, 2007

Allergies or Tonsilitis?

We took the peanut to see an ENT last week because the coughing is driving us all nuts, plus her behavior has been a little less than desired. The ENT was great and told us that her tonsils are very enlarged and that may be the root cause of lots of things. However, we want to rule out allergies before we cut her open so she is on new allergy meds to see if they work. We will find out more on November 6.

She did have a better week, but the child seems to think that 5:30am is morning time. SHe climbs into bed with us and carries on a conversation. We are trying to sleep. This morning I took her back to bed so we could at least get some more rest. She, however, had other plans and was playing very loudly. R eventually got up to see what she was up to. I was very cranky and decided to stay in bed. 5:30 is way to early for chipper conversation by anyone. I would say that we did have a better week, but I know that this is not going to be over. She is three and testing herself against us. So far I am the stronger one, but R's getting there.

Have a great week,
CDR

Sunday, October 21, 2007

Terrible threes or just plain spoiled?

Mallory had the worst fit today and of course it was in church. She was so horrible before we even left to go, but we insisted on going. We get there and all h-e-l-l breaks out. She doesn't want to be left alone in Sunday School, so we stay with her. She won't go up front with her class and sing, so she sits on my lap. She tells me she doesn't want me and I think good, that's good, she'll do this. As soon as I step away, she wants R. I go to her and she just throws this fit. We finally take her and sit in the back. She won't go up and sing. She won't let go of us, but yet she doesn't want us. She pushes and screams. I take her out and to the bathroom because I actully needed to go. She just cries and carries on. She ends up getting spanked which does no good. Isnt' the saying spare the rod, spoil the child? I take her back in to see if she will play with the musical toys the other kids are playing with and she just won't. We sit down and she proceeds to hit me. That's when things really got bad. I just about hit her back and hard. I was so FURIOUS. Of course R sees this from a distance and looses it. He starts yelling at her, she's crying, and yes, hello, we are still in church. We put her down a hallway out of earshot of everyone else and let her get over it, a time out deal. It doesn't get any better. People are walking by wondering what is going on. They try to comfort us by telling us stories of their kids, which really only makes us more upset. R looks like he's going to shoot steam out of his ears.

As soon as she sees us, she just starts screaming again. This is the most spoiled little girl and I'm done with it. She was so horrible!!! We finally left. I got up early to go to Sunday School and Church only to leave early and deal with this monster of a child. I then lost it in the car and was just screaming at her. I have never been so ashamed and embarrassed. What are we doing wrong that she thinks she can do this? Of course, by leaving church, she has won and that just pisses me off even more. We should have left her in Sunday School to see how she would be without us. That is the plan for next week.

Then there's the thought, what if they don't want her back? What if my child is the child teachers don't want in class because she is so horrible? I discipline her at home, but R lets her get away with everything. We talk about this and he fixes things for about 5 minutes and then goes right back to letting her get away with things. She thinks that he is her toy and whenever she wants something she gets it. For example, if little miss wants to watch a movie, he will stop what ever he's watching and let her watch something. If she wants to play a game, he's jumping up to get one out. This is true for most everything that goes on in our house. I am so sick of it and he just won't change. The situation is just getting worse. He's a great dad and there for her always, but she sees that as whatever I want, I just need to ask Daddy. Oh, and if I here her say, I can't one more time, I might wash her mouth out with soap or worse. I'm probably going to end up in trouble for saying these things, but those of you who know me, know I just need to vent.

Here's to a happier week!
CDR

Monday, October 15, 2007

Lack of Motivation

I'm sitting here thinking, I should really start that paper. It's the last paper, the epitome of papers that has to be done. Do I have it started? Nope. This class is my last class towards my Masters and I can't wait to be done. However, I find it very difficult to get motivated for it. I totally wish I had taken this class around the middle of the program and saved a cool literature class for last. I can honestly say that had I taken this class to begin with, I would have thought about dropping out of the program. However, here I am in this class and I dread it. I know the information is important and I'm sure at some point I will need to know how to compile research in the best possible way, I'm just not there right now. I'm hoping my motivation picks up next week at the state's conference for my profession. I can't wait to go and discuss issues with others in my position. It's so great to have the opportunity to network, plus I get to see some classmates from the program that I don't get to see anymore. It is going to be so fun.

On the home front, Mallory is still coughing and coughing. What is with that? I called the doctor today and said she was coughing. The nurse's response, "along with every other child in the office." Therefore, I guess, we just have to let it run its course. It is so painful to hear her cough. You know the cough, the one that sits her up and makes her unable to catch her breath. It scares her. The makers of all cough medicines should be sued by us moms. They are worthless, yet we pay lots of money for them. Plus, we can't just get them any more, thanks to the meth addicts. I was actually carded Saturday trying to buy Triaminic. This made me mad and happy at the same time. You only need to be 18 to buy it. I must have looked young that day.

A few weeks ago, I got together with some very close friends from college. It was so great to see them and they can really brighten up life. I just wish I could see them more often. It's too bad that life gets so busy and we don't go out more often. We should try to establish some sort of scheduled get together every other month or so. Those who can come do and those who can't, that's OK. We just sort of have a calendar of meeting dates and try to get together. Girlfriends are the best therapy and it needs to be done more.

Hope everyone is having a splendid week!

LOL,
CDR

Friday, October 05, 2007

Here we go again!

I don't know if you remember, but last fall about this time, the illness that wouldn't go away started. We had cold, flu (twice), pink eye, etc. We seem to be heading that way again. I'm home today with the Princess who has a horrible cough. Plus she was up all night coughing and R had some weird intestinal thing going on that quite frankly grossed me out. Why are boys so yucky? Anyway, I just had M to the doctor on Wednesday for her 3 year check up and of course all was super duper then. Two days later of course, things are ugly and quite possibly could get worse. I do have to say to my friend Lawmommy, that I also had to hold a cup for the speciman at the doctor's office. M didn't want to do it at all. She kept saying, "no Mommy, I pee in the toilet, not the cup." I finally moved the cup and told her to just go. I then snuck around back and put the cup under her from behind. Her little butt doesn't cover the entire hole and this was the easiest way. It was messy, but I did it. We made sure to wash very, very well upon completion.

Now, back to man yuckies. What is their deal? I know that if I'm sick I try to keep things in one area. Why do they need to share the yuck? I mean, is it really all that hard, not to move through the room, then house sharing all kinds of germs, etc. with the entire family? And then my favorite, roll over and cough in my face. After the first extremely gross episode, he decided the go watch TV. I get that he was up, but why move around and be gross? Of course M was up coughing, R was sick and moving around. Did I get any sleep? NOPE!!! It's like this conspiracy to not let me sleep and I think I may need to sue the makers of Robitussen. That stuff does not work. Plus we tried many other drugs to no avail with the coughing. R's problem had him at the doctor's office where I made him go. He is yucky and needs something. I made him see my doctor. I have confirmed that he showed up and was given an antibiotic. That better do the trick or there will be hell to pay tonight. For those of you who don't share a bed with a man, be thankful this does not happen to you. If you still want/love a man after this grossness, it is truly love. One more time, YUCK!

The thing keeping me going is that tomorrow I get to see some old girlfriends and I can't wait. Maybe I'll leave the yuck maker home.

LOL,
CDR

Tuesday, October 02, 2007

Birthday Party and Fun

For the three of you who read my blog, I'm sorry that I haven't been posting lately. All is well here, just busy.


We celebrated Mallory's third birthday Sunday. Here's the yummy cake and do I mean yummy!




Her official day was yesterday though. She is so lucky/spoiled. She got a ton of clothes, plus toys, books, movies, and stuffed animals. She ripped through her presents in record time. I can't believe she is three. She was so little when she was born. It just seems so weird to see her now. She is a leader at daycare/preschool. She sits at the big kid table. She is potty trained. She doesn't get a bink anymore. She is such a big girl.




























I am so excited that this weekend, we are getting the chance to see some old friends. I can't wait to see everyone. I feel like I've been out of the loop because I haven't seen them, even though I am a regular blog reader.