Thursday, June 28, 2007

A change of venue

Well, there have been some changes in our lives this week. It has been a whirlwind of events that have led to the possibility of a new job. Let's keep this a secret for now, but I just had to write about it.

I was encouraged to submit my resume and application to a nearby, very nearby, school district for an opening of a job that my Master's degree will be in this December. I thought, what the heck, it's good practice and I'll get my resume updated. I dropped off the paperwork on Monday afternoon. 10 minutes later, he called to schedule an interview for the next day. I missed the call, but was able to get in touch with him first thing Tuesday morning. I went in half an hour later for my first interview. Before I left he told me to come back on Wednesday for interview number 2 with the committee. I went to that and really asked some serious questions about job security, pay, tenure, etc. I thought they would offer the job to the in house person for sure. One hour after being home, they called and offered me the job. After some serious thought and discussion with R, I called today to accept. AHHH! It's all tentative and I have not resigned from my current position, hence the secrecy, but it looks like it's going to happen. I won't know until early August when I get my test results. I knew I should have taken that in April.

Here are my fears:
I have seniority where I'm at and I'm tenured. Will they value me or cut me out like so many other places are doing with this position right now?

I'm taking a pay cut that is pretty significant. However, they are not starting me at the bottom and will move me up mid year when my Master's is complete. Should I do it and take less?

Will the person who works in house file a grievance and win, leaving me jobless?

Is this the only opportunity for this job that I will have?

Will where I work figure out how valuable this position is and reinstate it in the near future?

And the big one, what if I fail the test? :-(

I LOVE the job and can't wait to do it, but it's so scary to not know what will happen. I get to recreate the job as I want it to be. I also get to fully use anything technology wise that I want. They really want me to reinvent this position as I want it to be.

Let me know what you think and/or send some positive thoughts our way.

LOL,
CDR

Sunday, June 24, 2007

Random thoughts

I was checking out the last date that I wrote and thought I should at least write something.

Life has been very busy over the past three weeks. I have been working on my practicum which, to those of you not in my program, it's my internship. However, I don't like to call it that because people automatically assume that I am working on my undergrad degree. I guess it's a good thing that people think that, if they they think I look young, but I really think that they think I'm some old lady trying to get some degree late in life. Several people at the place where I'm doing this have given me some quizzical looks, but hey, oh well. I'm making some really good connections there and in fact am applying for a job as a media specialist tomorrow. I'm not finished with the program until Christmas, but it can't hurt to apply. We'll see how that goes.

I went back home this weekend with M. It's a four hour drive and she does really well in the car. I have the world's smallest bladder and had to stop three times on the way there to use the girls room. She was a bit annoyed with me that we weren't at Bumpa's house yet. I didn't stop once on the way home today. I chose my drinks carefully. Anyway, we went there to visit family and to go to a baby shower. One of my cousins/good friend is having a baby in December, but she lives in Arizona. The shower was now because this is when she would be here. It was so nice to be able to visit with her and my other cousin. I don't get to see them often and we were really close as kids. Also, my little M was really good. She just requires a lot of energy and I'm exhausted. She was so sweet in her party dress and really was a trooper all weekend. She did finally take a nap on the way home today, which was great. Traffic was a bear though.

I can't remember how much of my brother's life story I've talked about so I'll be brief. My oldest brother is married and has two boys, twins. They are seven. Anyway, three times D has ended up in jail or rehab for a serious drug problem. She recently got out, again, and is home with her family. My brother made this decision and I want very badly to support him. I have this feeling though that the problem will happen again. What then? What about the boys? They have been through so much and all I, or anyone in the family wants, is for this to be OK. Trust has been lost and is very hard to gain back. I saw them today in church, which is a good start, but I just don't know what to say to her. Do I just ignore the problem? Do I talk to her like it never happened and move on? Do I pull her aside and tell her what I really think? I want to make sure that kids don't hear me, but I also don't want my brother to be mad at me. It's a weird situation.

I guess that's it for now.

LOL,
CDR

Saturday, June 09, 2007

It's been awhile

Sorry for the delay in writing. It has been very busy here. I'll try to keep it brief, the two people who read this have lives.

My beautiful little girl has hit the terrible twos and she is almost three. She really has a temper. (I don't where she gets it.) She has been fighting us mostly at bedtime and tonight really pulled a bad one. She tore up a library book, Angelina Ballerina. A library book!!! She did this just because and she knows better. Not a good move for her. She ended up falling asleep from crying. I hate that more than anything. I cannot express in enough words my extreme love for her, but this is hard. Harder than anything ever. R and I are just trying to be consistant which, I'm told, is the best thing to be. Other than the fits she has, she is so awesome. She is in a big girl bed and later this summer she will be potty trained, even if it kills me. She finally has hair and let me braid it today. That's right, I could braid it. One year ago, I couldn't get a velcro barrett to stay in, now braids, yeah!!

School is out for the summer which is so good. I'm going to start my practicum on Monday at the LISD media center. I'm really looking forward to it. For those two people who don't know what my Master's will be in, it's library and information science with a focus on school media. About a month ago, we were informed that our district is elimiating our only certified SLMS. She will be going to teach 7th grade language arts. She will be great at it, but that's not the point. I have gone through all of the necessary channels and am on the June school board agenda. I simply plan to inform the school board of what this decision will mean and how it will impact the students. I have to be very careful because of my current position and I will. I simply want them to have the accurate information about this and that's all I plan on doing. What they do with that information is up to them. At least they will have the accurate information.

That leads me to grad. school. I am doing very well with classes. It's just very busy. I'm taking a children's lit. class, grades 4-8 right now and it's very fun to read these books. The practicum is also a part of this summer's credits. I will then be in another lit. class, followed by a tech. class, and then research. Done my Christmas is my new mantra.

Finally, but definitely not least, my lovable R. He is the most supportive husband. I have class two night a week, plus all of the other stuff and he doesn't say one negative word. I am not so cooperative sometimes and he doesn't flinch. I only hope other girls get one that him. Don't get me wrong, he still does the weirdest things and doesn't get some very common sense things, but he makes up for it in other ways.

I'll try not to be gone for so long this time.

LOL,
CDR