Monday, July 21, 2008

Socializing

Well, I took the plunge and finally joined Facebook. I haven't done it before because I figured that if someone wanted to find me, they would eventually either call or email. The problem is that so many people from my past, don't have my number or my email. Many in fact have probably forgotten me until they were like "hey, I know that person" and asked me to be their friend. Here is another concept that I find funny. I have to ask people to be my friends and people have to either accept or decline and vise versa. I know this is the safest way for us all to socialize, but it's so elementary and amusing to me. Another dilemma was that students could be on there and I don't really want them to find me.

Another funny tid bit is that I can't get husband to sign up on his own. (Plus, I can't have two accounts going to the same email.) He is so scared that someone weird might find him and this could be true. Especially since I was doing a search for graduates from his year of college and did find some people who we have not spoken to since our wedding, 13 years ago. I think some of you may know who I mean. I'll just say, there was a bit of a ruckus after our reception in the hotel. Fortunately, husband and I were NOT involved at all and were clueless in the morning about the whole thing. I thought about asking them to be my "friends" but husband wouldn't let me.

We went to husband's 20th high school class reunion (yes, he is that old, not me) this past Saturday and everyone there kept asking if we were in Facebook. I told his friends that I would sign him up, but he wouldn't let me. However, I made sure to mention him a lot so people would be able to find him through me. Some of his classmates have already friended me so I guess it will work.

Look me up if you get the chance.

LOL,
CDR

Friday, July 04, 2008

Randomness

Whew, what a month. School got out, we went right into a summer project, then VBS, then a trip to see the folks, then it's already the 4th of July. Summer is going by way too fast and I don't have time to do my home projects.

I thought that with my degree done, I would be able to read more, scrapbook more, spend more time with family and traveling. I find that I'm super busy and tired AND I don't want to do a thing. I just want to sit. I don't even want to read. I think I'm burned out because of all the reading I did last summer and over the last three years. I know it sounds funny for a Media Specialist to not want to read, but I just can't do the in-depth reading that I had hoped to do. I have been scrapbooking a bit, but I want to do more. The problem is that I really don't have a great space to do it. I plan on going out to do more and I've asked for a table for my birthday so I can leave out my stuff and scrapbook when I want to.

In family news, M and I went to see my family, a four hour trip. R stayed home because he had to work and he is able to get home projects done when we are gone. He did accomplish stuff, but not nearly what he could have. I think he relished in the fact that he was alone. (Don't blame him there.) We had a great time with my family. M was able to see the cows and LOVED it. She was also able to go to another zoo and ride a camel. I will have to post a picture later. She had a blast with her cousins and then we were able to visit with our friends who moved too far away. That's OK though, because we are vacationing with them later.

I also have to mention that the new owner of my Grandpa and Grandma's house moved in this past Monday. I'm OK with this, but I don't plan on driving by or visiting. My family knows him, he's a bit younger than I am and I know he will take good care of the house. I was told that he is planning on having a tree removed from right behind the house and this bothers me more than anything. This is the three with a cement break wall around it that, as kids, we all sat on and husked corn, ate watermelon, and played. It's a huge shade tree and it's sad to see it go. I decided some time ago that I don't mind getting older, but I don't like to see change back home. My dad is now the elder and that freaks me out.

Anyway, enough randomness for today.

LOL,
CDR