Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Thoughts for this week

Is it possible that my little sweetie is turning into the diva child? I think so. She woke up with an a-t-t-i-t-u-d-e!!! The day didn't get much better. I've decided that I love her tremendously, but there is a reason why I'm not a stay at home mom. She is a ball of energy and all I want to do is enjoy my cups of coffee and watch GMA for just 30 minutes. That's it. Also, I would prefer to not be up before 7am. I did get her to sit in bed with me and watch some show on the channel with the mouse, but she was still awake. Also, why does R cave each and every second she demands something? It doesn't matter what it is, he jumps the second she wants it. I'm really peeved about that. It totally leaves me on the bad side of evil when I say no. I think what I need to do is get her out of the house on some expedition of sorts. It must be cheap or free and not too far away. I'm thinking about the museum, the zoo, and water park that aren't too far away, but I'm up for any suggestions.

Also, as a person who loves books, would it be absolutely awful of me to remove books from her bedroom? She ends up with 20 or so in bed with her. She has no room to move and now is starting to overuse them into little paper bits. She isn't being destructive necessarily, but she is reading them so much that the covers are falling off. While one side of me is so excited that she loves to read, the other wants her to sleep without the books. Thoughts there?

In other news, I went to see my new potential place of work last week, the actual room. Holy man, do I have A LOT of work to do. The room is huge, which can be both good and bad. Also, there are several entrance points, two from the hallway, one to outside, and 3-4 from classrooms. This is bad. There is no desk in "my" office. One storage room is being turned into a virtual classroom. The collection is outdated and very small. It is quite possible that due to the size of the room, the collection looked small, but I don't think so. I know for a fact that the fiction collection was almost non-existant. I was also told that no more than 300 books are checked out per month, ever. WHAT??? That's not good. I guess on the positive side, whatever I do will be sure to be an improvement. It just makes me so nervous. Only two weeks, three days before I know the test results to know for sure if I will be movin' on up. The superintendent went to the board meeting last night with my name for the job. I really hope that the inside person doesn't file any grievance. This is hard enough without that issue to deal with.

Class this summer is going pretty well, considering all of the horror stories that I had heard about this particular class. It is a ton of work, but I really think she cut out some things. I have purposly waited to take this class because I knew how troubling it would be. I am happy to say, knock on wood, that so far things are going well. We are half way through and it's good. The funny thing is, and I have to share, it amazes me how some people get as far with their education as they do. My group is great and we are all working hard, however, there is this one lady in class who is just stupid. I know that is harsh, but OMG she is several fries short in the happy meal. I just don't know how she can be in the program let alone how she finished her undergrad work. Every time she speaks, I can see the prof. just wondering how, why? We as a class just look down and don't make eye contact. We know that we will just explode in laughter.

I guess that's all for now. I hope all is well with my fans and readers!!

LOL,
CDR

Monday, July 09, 2007

Time warp

About 12 years ago I stood in the same line that I stood in this past Saturday, the state teacher certification test line. First of all, they made us wait outside in the blistering heat. We coundn't take our purses in. Anyone who had a cell phone had to check it in and leave it at the door, like a coat check. It's top security. That was the only difference.

While waiting in the blistering heat, it was so funny to be standing there again, only this time with teaching experience and only there for an endorsement. There were these two girls in front of me discussing their summer etc. It was like a time warp. They chatted about how they were planning their student teaching and that they had these part time jobs for the summer. They were both married, recently I presume, and they discussed how their husbands wanted this and that. It was surreal listening to them talk about this. I was there 12 years ago. I was standing in that line taking my tests for the first time, about to student teach. The process is the exact same and the thoughts of those two young women were the same that I had all those years ago. It was quite the experience. After finding my seat, I made small talk with the girl next to me. Bless her, she asked if I was taking my subject area tests. I either look young or she was blind. She was taking her elementary test. Anyway, I think I did pretty well on my test, but I won't know until August 3rd. That is also the date that things may or may not be official at my prospective new employment. I have so many ideas as to what I want to do at the new place and can't wait to get started, but I'm not allowing myself just yet. I don't want to get my heart trampled on if I didn't pass the test. I hate tests. At least it wasn't in German!!

On another note, M started potty training one week ago and, knock on wood, things are going very well. She was ready and we were more that ready to get rid of stinky diapers. She even goes in by herself, shuts the door and tell me to wait outside. For some reason, she must strip completely from the waist down to do the job and she needs new undies when she is finished, no matter what. She has had few accidents and even caught herself today. She immediately jumped up and shouted she had to go. We rushed in there and she had actually stopped a number 2 and went on the potty. WHOO, HOO!!! My baby is a big girl, next step, bink fairy.

LOL,
CDR