Thursday, April 26, 2007

SLMS and stuff

Things have settled down a bit at work, but everyone is pretty much down in the dumps due to the changes that will be happening. I met with my boss and explained how things were not good and were not being done for the betterment of the students. He was not very supportive and later came to me to cover his tracks. I made an appointment to meet with the super**intendent next week. I am taking a friend with me so as to have a witness and some support even though I don't think he'll support me fully. They really want me to just let it go, but I can't. I can't explain how important having a certified school*media*specialist really is without going into great detail so just trust me on this one. We'll see what next week brings.

On the home front, the basement is FINISHED. Super hooray!!! It looks great and so far no cat accidents. If he makes one mess, it's bye, bye kitty. M is doing great. R is doing much better after the sinus infection in his eyes. That was so gross!!!

I am offically registered for my last class next fall. I am super busy, but it will be worth it in eight months when I will be totally done. To my friend with the Beagle, have fun at graduation. I hear over 2000 graduates are walking. It's going to be quite the day.

That's all for now.

LOL
CDR

Thursday, April 19, 2007

OMG!

It has been a crazy couple of weeks. We just got M better then I got a horrible sinus infection, then R had what we thought was pink eye, but was really a sinus infection in his eyes. That's right, yuck and double yuck.

It's been a crazy week at work as well. We found out on Tuesday that our one and only certified school library media specialist's position is being eliminated next year. She is being put back in the classroom full time. I am outraged to say the least over this for a multitude of reasons. First of all I know the negative impact this is going to have on student achievement because I'm studying this for my degree. Secondly, the administration is handling it very poorly and I mean POORLY. Third, other staff members have a very noncaring attitude about it. Fourth, and most importantly, my mentor/role model/friend is leaving and the administration is very cold about it. I have decided that I need to fight for this in the most professional way that I can. I went to the principal and spoke with him regarding the situation and didn't get much support. In fact, he basically told me that I needed to be careful with my words, he didn't want to have to file paperwork for insubordination. What? I can't speak my mind for the betterment of students? Hello, isn't that my job? Isn't that why we teach? I'm just going through the channels that I'm supposed to go through to get myself on the school board agenda for May and I'm either warned or threatened about insubordination. I'm not going against my boss and doing something I shouldn't or not doing something I should. I'm doing what is right for the students. Without a certified school library media specialist, there will not be any competent work going on in the library. We will have aids in each building and that's it. I know other districts do this and money is tight. But is it really that bad that instead of promoting our academics, we diminish them by lessening the worth of the library? We should be adding on to the library and making it a feature of our school, not shutting the doors.

There are people out there who believe that they can get anything they want from the Internet. I'm person who does use the Internet often. However, did you know that only 10% of the world's information is online? Where else might someone get this information you ask? That's right, the LIBRARY!!! Aids can't order books, weed collections, do book talks, budget items, run technology systems, reference materials for teachers, trouble shoot other various needs of students and staff, etc. Aids can check in and out books and some other basic things. I feel great passion in fighting for this and I was shut down and dismissed. I'm not totally surprised by what happened, but it felt like I couldn't be trusted. My principal is worried that I will say something to anger the super. or the board. Granted, in the past there was one incident in which I felt great passion about something and called someone an a**hole during a staff meeting. However, that was years ago, I was provoked, and I was not the only one thinking it. I just happened to be the one stupid enough to say it. Why is it that everyone remembers the one time I messed up? I've been a good teacher for seven years for this district and now I feel I should move on. The only light at the end of the tunnel is that we have just hired a new superintendent and I figure he can't be nearly as bad as what we have now. Can it?

If any one out there knows where in the NCLB or AYP or Education Yes! documentation where it states schools won't be accredited without an SLMS, please let me know. I am getting myself ready to present to the board and I need it to be as professional as possible with tons of research to back me up.

That's all for now. Prayers out to Virginia Tech and congrats to Sorting the Baby Stuff.
CDR

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Spring Break is already over...

and it's not fair. I had planned on going into the library to get some hours during break, but that didn't happen. Poor little M had strep throat with a very high temp. all week. She is finally better and now it's time to go back to work. I didn't mind staying home and I know I'll get the hours in later. I'm just glad she was sick when I was home. No one had to miss work that way. Of course now, I don't feel well and have a sinus headache from H***. Before the sickness started, we were able to get some seriously cute pictures taken. They are for Easter, but also because she's 2 1/2. I can't believe she's so old already. When I get the pictures from the website eventually, I'll post here. For some reason I can't get her pictures online as promised. I'm working on that though.

Guess what? The basement is only two steps away from completion. We need to clean so the carpet can go down, yeah. Now, we have to get the naughty cat to use the litterbox. I punished him today just like I did when he was a kitten. We'll see if it works. I bleached the floor and he still crapped in the middle. We put him out, he comes in and craps in the middle. Fortunately, R is not threatening to shoot them right now.

That's all here. It's back to work I go.
CDR