Wednesday, December 20, 2006

Just so happy!

1. M is healthy, knock on wood!
2. Today was the beginning of the two weekish break, YEAH!!! Some people may think that teachers have it easy with the all the breaks and summer off, but we work very hard and DESERVE breaks! Each and every one of them. I would just like to see someone try to do my job.
3. The basement is all painted!
4. Friends who are adopting from Vietnam got their Visas today and will get to see their daughter in just over two weeks.
5. I'm baking cookies for Christmas, yummy.
6. R's parents super sweet and helping out a ton in the basement.
7. I know four pregnant women and they are ALL doing well. Again, knock on wood.
8. Our house smells nice because we had the carpets cleaned yesterday. They used cinnamon in the water, ooooh!

Now, I need to finish that shopping that didn't get done because someone wouldn't take a nap. I have a bazillion cookies to make, but I love to do that. I also have the wrapping to do. That I don't like to do, but it will get done.

I figure since I have to pay the daycare for a full week, M may as well go and I will get things done here. She loves it there anyway and can play.

Isn't life super? I love Christmas! Merry Christmas everybody.

LOL
CDR

Sunday, December 17, 2006

Favorite time of year


Here is the official Christmas picture of cute M. I must say, she is the cutest little girl. In the last six months, her hair has finally grown. She has the prettiest curls. She says she wants to wear a ponytail, but takes it out immediately.

Yesterday we went to see the annual lights at the zoo and it was so much fun. M loves the zoo and really was excited to go. She was able to see the elephants and penguins, her two favorites. R and I love seeing her get so excited about the animals. She is so funny and she ran everywhere. We went to a new pizza buffet restaurant afterwards and it was both cheap and good. M was free and we only paid $10. Talk about an easy night out.

I'm hoping to finish my Christmas shopping today if M takes a nap which so far is not happening. R is painting in the basement with his dad, therefore, I can't just leave. I have a ton to do, but am not worried. It always comes together. The biggest challenge is R's dad. I have no idea what to get him and R is no help. He always wants to get him summer sausage. This is not a Christmas gift to your dad!! The common sense gene skipped R; he quite possibly gets that trait or lack there of, from his mother.

Just eight more days until the big day, yeah:-)

LOL
CDR

Monday, December 11, 2006

I didn't want to say she was sick, but she is...

Today was going to be the first day back to day care in over and week, then I received an email from R that M was sick, AGAIN! He had already taken her to the doctor and they said another ear infection. Yeah, R is so awesome!!

It's two things: first, and most importantly, she's sick again; secondly, we had to pay the day care for a week we weren't even there. That hurts. I understand it, I just don't like it. Then to top it off I had a small arguement with a very close friend today. I know that she thinks I'm overreacting to M being sick. Most people keep telling me that it's because she is at a new day care and she will get sick. My brain tells me that, yes, she is going to get sick. However, she has been sick for two months with little reprieve. Yes, I could be overreacting, but my gut tells me to at least find out for sure. Isn't that what I'm supposed to do as her mom? Now granted, M is an only child, and most likely will always be, but that doesn't mean I should overlook what is going on. I'm so frustrated with this whole situation and I just wanted to vent. I know that I talk about M and R too much to others. I'm not a shy person and I tend to go off on tangents quite frequently, but those who know me seem to get this. That's why I was very surprised by my close friend who didn't seem to get it. I'm sure there are things going on in her life too and I know I need to be a better listener. I was just looking for a little support, not a lecture on how if she doesn't get sick now, she'll just be sicker later. My little M is sick now and that's what matters to me. I don't mean to offend anyone, but she is what's on my mind and I tend to dwell. I just want her to be well and I'll find out more tomorrow. I know things could be so much worse and I am thankful that it might just be a cold or a viral something. That doesn't mean I should make if mean less. She is still sick. See, I'm very good at tangents.

In happier news, R is coming along in the basement. His dad came over and helped paint. They have one coat on, yeah:-) We are hopefully going to pick out carpet this weekend, double yeah:-)

I also had a chance to do some shopping someplace other than Walmart or Meijer this weekend. That made me very happy. I love how the mall smells. I haven't been in so long. I need to go again very soon.

Some close friends of mine will be leaving for Vietnam in early January to pick up their daughter. I am so happy for them. That little girl is already so loved. Another friend is doing well in her pregnancy after some very trying times, to say the least. SUPER! I know four women all due in May, which is very funny. Must have been some sort of storm and no power a few months back.

LOL
CDR

Wednesday, December 06, 2006

AHHHH and DOUBLE AHHHH!!!

What the hell is up with my poor little M and the sicknesses? I'm about to loose it. Again, we are dealing with the flu and we have an appointment later today to confirm what I know to be true, pink eye. She is finally acting like herself after being flu ridden since Saturday and now she can't go anywhere because she has a highly contagious disease that R and I will most probably get.

It's also crazy at work and I'm missing about five very important things today because it was my turn to stay home. R missed Monday and Tuesday. It looks like he'll be here tomorrow with the pink eye mess. It's just easier for him to miss. Being gone from my classroom is horrible. It's just so much easier to go in sick than to miss and make the arrangements needed. I have three people covering me in various locations today so I can stay home. That's another thing, why do these ailments hit at the busiest times? I am now officially referring to myself as Bad Karma. People use to ask me that all the time and now it's true.

I was also hoping to go shopping tonight with co-workers. I've been looking forward to it for weeks and now that's out. I just wanted to get some cool things and have fun with the girls. I love more than anything being a mommy, but the sicknesses must LEAVE MY HOUSE. I don't know how people get through the really tough illnesses with their kids.

Anyway, sorry to post another "my kid is sick" post, but that's what is going on in my life.

LOL
CDR